“The heart is capable of sacrifice…

The month of February is a wonderful month in my world. This is my 8th year of being involved in the international VDay movement. My involvement over those years has gone from online activism and raising awareness to last year being part of the organisation of Arusha’s first VDay event. This year, I was production manager for our production of The Vagina Monologues and I could not be more proud of what this movement stands for.

The Vagina Monologues is an incredible play that tackles some of the most difficult and controversial topics. It’s funny, heartbreaking, confrontational, educational and empowering. As a cast, we laughed together, we cried together and we fell head over heels in love with each other through this movement.

16708623_413811452288528_6545909306040735264_n

One of my favourite parts of this process is the bonds that are made and solidified throughout it. I love the conversations that happen as a result of this movement, the friends that stand beside you and support you, and the incredible new people you meet along the way.

16684241_413806682289005_6770328224021230298_n

I’m always amazed by the generosity of people – and not just financial generosity. People are generous with their time – my entire cast and crew were volunteers who gave up nights and weekends to make this event happen. People are generous with their ideas and their expertise – all I had to do was ask and help was swiftly on the way. People are generous with their conversation – discussing the issues raised and understanding the reasons for my involvement and how much I care.

And people are generous with their hearts. The love I felt from my friends here and the support and love that came my way from the people I know care about me, my community, was incredible.

It is incredible.

16684213_413805855622421_8468316561820533662_n

I could write for days about this movement but for now I will stay thankful for this continually amazing experience and my beautiful community.

“The heart is capable of sacrifice. So is the vagina. The heart is able to forgive and repair. It can change it’s shape to let us in. It can expand to let us out. So can the vagina. It can ache for us and stretch for us, die for us and bleed and bleed us into this difficult, wondrous world. So can the vagina…”

Eve Ensler, The Vagina Monologues

