Love Endures All Things

Today is my parents 37th wedding anniversary. They met when they were teenagers and have been together for over 40 years. While the road has not always been easy, I feel confident in knowing that they are more in love today than ever. Both of them have said that they would be lost without each other – they have lasted the distance and still love, which is almost unheard of these days. 


A loving relationship that lasts as long as my parents has feels beyond the realms of possibility for me. Even if I met ‘The One’ tomorrow, I would be in my mid-70s by the time we had made it as far as my parents. And they have, hopefully, many more happy years to come. 

Growing up with the sheer privilege of having them as my parents has given me an insight into the potential of love and the sheer power of their commitment. 

My mum has lived with a chronic, potentially fatal illness since she was 8 years old. She has managed it with bravery and determination for over 50 years and is an inspiration. When my dad first got together with my mum, he fully admits he had no idea of the impact that her condition would have. Through their many years together he has saved her life countless times and stood beside her through every battle she has faced. Through it all, they endure. 

My parents are ministers in The Salvation Army and, part of their calling is to go wherever and whenever. As I have mentioned in previous posts, this meant moving location on average every 3 years. They have been pastors of many congregations, ministered to hundreds of people, and cared deeply for all. Their commitment to their faith and to each other has meant that, as a couple, they have lived a life of service and supported people, and each other, through the most difficult and painful of circumstances. They have endured. 

 “Nobody has ever measured, not even poets, how much the heart can hold.” – Zelda Fitzgerald

My parents, together, have endured through life’s joy and adventure, through painful loss and heartbreak, and raised three daughters to be strong women. 

They inspire me and I am thankful for all they have taught me so far. They make me believe in enduring love in a world that does all it can to prove otherwise. 

