I Hope You Dance…

IMG_7763.JPG

“And when you get the chance to sit it out or dance, I hope you dance.”
– Lee Ann Womack

When I was around 16 years old, I vividly remember my dad returning home one day desperately wanting me to hear a song that had been on the radio. My dad was an avid Radio 5Live or Radio 2 listener so you can imagine the joy this may have brought to my 16 year old self.

Until he played the song!

My parents have always recognised and accepted my adventurous side. As a child, I always seemed to find joy in life and it’s hopefully something that I have kept in the midst of the mayhem that adult life can present. Within the song my dad introduced me to was an illustration of just that type of person. Someone ready to take on the next adventure and look at the world with ever-wondering eyes. Someone who will choose to look for the window that opens after the door closes. Someone who will choose to dance through life rather than sit it out!

In a previous blog, which was then published on HelloGiggles I wrote about saying yes to life . Through grabbing opportunities and choosing to see life in a more positive light I have met others with the same ‘I hope you dance’ attitude. My friend Laura actually keeps a blog of over 300 things that she wants to do – some of which I have joined her in. Completing My Bucketlist was recently featured in a few national newspapers and within it Laura was met with many comments from those who had been inspired by her sharing her story and her adventurous attitude. However, she was also met with a few comments from people with the opposite approach to her. I couldn’t help but feel sad for the keyboard warriors who felt they needed to cast a shadow over her story and her positive attitude. People who would choose to try and drag another person down rather than allow themselves to consider that there is perhaps another way to look at life. Laura, of course, did not allow this to get her down and continues in pursuing her Bucketlist of adventures – and I can’t wait to help her along the way!

I have had many an opportunity to just sit it out in life, but I try to choose not to. And what great experiences it has brought me…

IMG_9500

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance… I hope you dance.

One thought on “I Hope You Dance…

  1. completingmybucketlistuk says:

    Reblogged this on Completing My Bucket List and commented:
    Today I’m sharing my lovely friend Lynseys blog.
    We met when we both “said yes” to trying roller derby with the Granite City Roller Girls.
    http://www.granitecityrollergirls.org.uk
    http://www.Facebook.com/granitecityrollergirls

    And since then have crossed a few items off our bucket list together including the colour run and Santa run.

    I’m sure we’ll cross off many bucket list adventures together in the future.

    Until then have a read through her blog “a girl called Lynsey”

    Happy bucket listing
    Laura

Leave a Reply

