On putting yourself ‘out there’ as a writer…

I think one of the most difficult things for a writer to do is to open themselves up to a wider readership. To be brave enough to put yourself ‘out there’!

2015/01/img_9344.jpg
Writing, for me, has always been a very cathartic exercise. I kept beautifully child-like diaries when I was a youngster, and my favourite part of school was when I was asked to write…well…anything! I was rarely happier than when there was a pen in my hand and a blank page of my jotter in front of me, waiting to be filled with whatever story was running around in my over active imagination that day.

I have written a blog since my late university days, leading me to believe that I am now a decade-long blogger! My blogs were personal and read by very few people for the first 5 years. That was until I became brave enough to want to use my writing for something more meaningful.

I realised how many blogs I read personally that helped me, gave me hope, made me feel less alone. And I realised that my writing could have the potential to help others, raise awareness of causes that are important, and make a difference in my own little way and from my own tiny corner of the internet!

Recently I have taken an even bigger leap and had my writing published by the brilliant people at HelloGiggles. A few months ago they published my post about saying ‘yes’ to life! It was warmly received and gave me the drive to submit another piece.

The piece I decided to send was intensely personal and about a time in my life that I haven’t written a lot about publicly, yet is something I know many, many people are experiencing on a daily basis. I felt it was important that the story was shared, in the hope that it might help others in a similar situation.

I was absolutely terrified of opening up this very precious piece of me to the inevitable criticism and commenting that the internet is renowned for. On the day it was published, I felt this acute sense of dread that it now existed out there in a world that I could not control.

And yet, since it was published, I have received such lovely messages from around the world, thanking me for sharing and associating with the post. People saying it moved them. People sharing their own experience. People telling me that what I wrote helped them feel less alone.

My fears of internet criticism and dragging me down were unnecessary.

It is truly terrifying as a writer to open up some parts of you to the world – and yet, when you do, people open up to you! And that is truly beautiful.

In addition, readership of my own blog has gone through the roof. So I just wanted to say a big hello to all my new readers and thank you for swinging by to my little corner of the internet! Please say hello in the comments, let me know what brought you here, and if there is anything you would like to read more of here!

2 thoughts on “On putting yourself ‘out there’ as a writer…

  1. laura says:

    Love this–so true! Ive had a very similar past and still working on the breaking out part. Glad to see the hesitation is shared, and able to be overcome!

  2. Erica Lea says:

    I just Googled “putting yourself out there as a writer” and got to you. 🙂 I just recently started writing again, and have just received a little pushback (from the type of people I predicted I would) but it has me second guessing really doing this at all. Like you, I love writing, and it is so cathartic for me as well. I have very deep objections to the status quo of education (as a former teacher and now parent) and I cannot wrap my mind around my feelings/emotions/thoughts in any better way than writing. So I want to do it. But it’s indeed very scary. And maybe I don’t really want to do it. Anyhow, was very nice running into this post and feeling less alone!

Leave a Reply

