Live Below The Line 2013

download

https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/elleenelle

This will be my third year of taking part in the Live Below The Line challenge. 

Live Below the Line is an innovative awareness and fundraising campaign that’s making a huge difference in the fight against extreme poverty.

Live Below the Line challenges individuals and communities to see how much change you can make out of £1. By living off just £1 per day for food for 5 days, you will be bringing to life the direct experiences of the 1.4 billion people currently living in extreme poverty and helping to make real change.

This year I will be living below the line for 5 days from Sunday 28th April until Thursday 2nd May. Last year I took the challenge for 12 long days which really pushed me. Some of my thoughts from last year can be found in this thread.  Unfortunately, due to my own forgetfulness and inability to remember dates correctly, I’ve completely run out of time in which to give it my own twist this year!

The challenge for me this year will be taking the challenge within my new role at work. This year I am office-based, surrounded by snacks and the very urgent need for caffeine to see me through a busy work day. The challenges I will be faced with will be different, eye-opening, and could possibly lead to many an incident of ‘Below The Line Brain‘!

This year I will, once again, supporting UNICEF UK and all money I raise will go towards their incredible work with children around the world.

UNICEF is the world’s leading organisation for children, working in over 190 countries and territories to help every child realise their full potential. UNICEF provide health care, water, nutrition, education and protection for the world’s most vulnerable and disadvantaged children. Your kind gift will help UNICEF’s work for children and families worldwide. Our work aims to ensure that the basic needs of every child are met – that they have clean water, food, health care, education and a safe environment in which to grow up. UNICEF is the world’s leading organisation working for children, working in more than 190 countries. UNICEF receive no funding from the United Nations budget and rely entirely on voluntary donations from valued supporters like you to fund our work for children worldwide.

Something that always strikes me about Live Below The Line is the fact that the equivalent of £1 is what people have to live on, not just for food and drink, but for everything!

While I sit here in my warm house, with my clean, running water, connecting to people across the world through my computer, with a job to go to tomorrow, I am acutely aware of just how much perspective this challenge gives you. If you find it hard simply feeding yourself for under £1, how much more difficult must it be to make that money provide a roof over your head, a bed to sleep in at night, clothes to wear, shoes on your feet, and food to sustain you through till the next day of struggle. Most of the people who live in extreme poverty are there through no fault of their own. For many it’s a mere accident of latitude.

Why should your chances of living a life out of poverty rely simply on where and to whom you were born?

Support my Live Below The Line Challenge by sponsoring me here: https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/elleenelle

 

One thought on “Live Below The Line 2013

Leave a Reply

