The Sharing Experiment

My day job for at least the past 8 years has involved working with children. In it’s most recent form I have had the joy of being a teacher, working with ever younger children (currently 3 and 4 year olds!). Some of what I observe within the classrooms I have worked in has taught me more than I think I have managed to teach to them.

I often think that, if we looked at the world through the eyes of children, our whole viewpoint would change. Children are naturally curious. They ask questions. They perceive the world around them and see it’s beauty and it’s flaws. The beauty fascinates them, and the flaws frustrate them. How many times have you heard a young child ask ‘Why?’. Surely as adults we should do the same…..

On 7th October 2011, Action Against Hunger conducted an experiment in Madrid, Spain, to study human behavior when faced with the injustice of hunger. Of the 20 children under study, all 20 shared their food.
In a world that produces more than enough food to feed everyone, 1.4 billion people are struggling to survive below the extreme poverty line. 3.5 million children still die from malnutrition-related causes every year.

We should learn from them and share too.

I’ll be taking part in Live Below The Line this year for 12 days, from the 30th April till the 11th May.

If you would like to donate, please go look at my official Live Below The Line page: https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/elleenelle

Leave a Reply

