Another Audience

Since I was young I have always loved to write. There was no better method outside of music that I could use to express my thoughts, my opinions and my passions. However, I have never been brave enough to put my writing out there and use my writing as a tool – a tool for bringing about change, for opening conversation, for raising awareness, for reaching a wider audience.

When I started blogging at the age of 17, I wrote about things happening in my own little world. Everything I wrote was very personal and was really just a way of saving a few trees in my efforts to journal. Almost ten years on, my writing has changed, and my view on the world is wider, more diverse, and I find my writing leaning towards the bigger issues.

This is the very reason I started a new blog – agirlcalledlynsey where I have been writing semi-regularly on bigger issues that have touched me, had an effect on me, and on issues that I believe need a platform. I have written about revolution, children’s rights, poverty, value, and I am fully aware that most of the people who read my blog are friends who perhaps feel obligated to stumble upon it once in a while. I don’t receive huge amounts of feedback, but what I do leads me to believe that perhaps I should keep writing in this way.

I recently took a leap of faith and submitted the link to my blog to the editor at Development in Action. He liked what he saw and asked if I would like to write for the DIA blog too. Of course, I said I’d love to – which was immediately followed by a special kind of fear centred around the thought that people wouldn’t like what I wrote, or wouldn’t be interested.

My first blog for them was posted last night and can be found here: http://wp.me/p1hSV0-5F

As I take new steps in my career path, taking me off the beaten path of teaching and into the world of Education in Developing countries, my writing will be continue to be focused on the issues I am learning about, the world of development, projects that I am working on, and the amazing changes that are happening in the world to fight poverty, change education and bring education to those without access.

I hope you will continue to read and share the stories I will be writing about.

Thank you for reading so far – stick with me. There’s so much more to tell.

Leave a Reply

